The Duel of the proverbs

In life I’ve always been struck by this one dilemma, ‘The duel of the proverbs’. There are certain proverbs that a very popular. And very often than not one it always has an exact contrary famous counterpart. For example, “If you love somebody, let them go, for if they return, they were always yours. If they don’t, they never were” and then there is also “If you don’t fight for what you love, don’t cry for what you lose.” Then there is, “All good things come to those who wait” on the other hand “Time and tide wait for none. “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again”, but then! “Don’t beat your head against a stone wall.”

What are we supposed to do? Which one do you live buy? In some situations the right proverb is apparent but in so many the line is so blur? For example, when you’re in a situation in life that only seems to be getting worse, do you walk away, because “God will set up road blocks till you steer yourself in the right direction.” or do you stick it out because, “The night gets the darkest right before it starts getting lighter.” Is it God testing me to see if i truly want and deserve it or is it him trying to steer me away from a wrong situation?

“The squeak­ing wheel gets the grease.”; but, “Silence is golden.” So do I voice my opinions or do I keep quite and hope someone understand because…. “If you don’t understand my silence, how will you understand my words?”, oh but wait, there’s also, “If you miss someone tell them, if you want to be understood explain, if you want something ask for it.”

Is ‘the pen mightier than the sword’ or do ‘actions speak louder than words’? Do I ‘do it well or not at all’ or is ‘half a loaf better than none’? ‘Do I not cross my bridges before I’ve come to them’ or is ‘forewarned better than forearmed’? When in ‘doubt is that the beginning of wisdom’ or will ‘faith move mountains’? Do I have to have a great start because ‘great starts make great finishes’ or I keep trying regardless because ‘it ain’t over till its over’?

You see the challenges I go through on an every day basis? how is one supposed to decide which proverb is the right one to live by? Specially when your situation is so convoluted that your inner voice is just gibberish?

Leave a Reply

